Introduction to The Seven Major Chakras

Seven Chakras

What Are Chakras?

The word chakra (pronounced sha-kra) comes from the Indian Sanskrit word meaning wheel or disk. Chakra refers to each of the seven major energy centres, which are dedicated to particular parts of our body and associated with our spiritual advancement.

The Seven Chakras Videos and Information:

Crown Chakra

Seventh Chakra - Sahasrara - Crown Chakra
Video Duration: 03:34

The Crown Chakra is located at the top of the head.

Third Eye Chakra

Sixth Chakra - Ajna - Third Eye Chakra
Duration: 03:03

The Third Eye Chakra is located in the middle of your forehead just above your eyes.

Throat Chakra

Fifth Chakra - Visuddha - The Throat Chakra
Duration: 04:07

The Throat Chakra is located at the throat.

Heart Chakra

Fourth Chakra - Anahata - Heart Chakra
Duration: 03:28

The Heart Chakra is located where the physical heart is.

Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Chakra - Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra
Duration: 03:22

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located just above the navel.

Sacral Chakra

2nd Chakra - Swadhisthana - Sacral Chakra
Duration: 03:14

The Sacral Chakra is located just below the navel.

Root Chakra

1st Chakra - Muladhara - The Root Chakra
Duration: 04:13

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spinal column.

The seven chakras are generally four inches in diameter and work like power stations for the body. Our bodies are made up of an electromagnetic energy and the flow of this energy effects our general state of well being. Each chakra is responsible for energising different vital organs, nerves and muscles, and distributing energies throughout our being.

Many of us do not possess the ability to see our own chakras; however psychics, clairvoyants and energy workers who can, describe them as colourful spinning wheels of light, spiralling cones or spinning vortexes. When awakened, chakras bloom like flowers restoring our inner balance and revitalising our health. Each one vibrates clockwise and moves at its own speed. The root chakra being the slowest to the crown chakra vibrating the fastest.

Chakra Locations

Each human being has seven chakras that are located vertically along the spinal column that run from the base of our spine (between the legs) to the top of our head. They are part of the bodies subtle energy system and thus do not have physical representation. The chakra names are: root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra and the crown chakra.

Chakra Colours

Each chakra is associated with a different colour of the rainbow, is sensitive to sound, and has a collection of emotions, thoughts and feelings related to it. The chakra colours are red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet. The brightness, size and colour of the chakra wheels vary depending on a persons physical condition, health, stamina levels, personal development, awareness and stress. Chakras are sensitive to and can be energised and rebalanced using energy healing modalities, colour therapy, sound healing, gemstones, crystals, homoeopathic remedies and essential oils.

Unbalanced Chakras

Over time chakras can become unbalanced, under-active or closed down, blocking the life energy to the corresponding parts of the body. This can cause illness, disease, physical problems, tiredness and depression. The individual may be effected with a negative attitude, have feelings of fear and doubt, feel out of touch, unable to think clearly, get angry, feel unhappy for no reason, lack self confidence and have a negative outlook on life.

Psychological and physical bodily problems have been said to show up in a persons chakra system and aura (energy field) before the symptoms were actually apparent.

What Causes Blocked Chakras?

Some of the reasons our chakras can become blocked are due to negative energy, psychic debris or leading an unhealthy lifestyle and diet. This is when we call upon healing experts to bring our chakras into perfect balance and alignment. Unblocking particular chakras that are keeping the life energy from flowing freely.

Balanced Chakras

When our chakras are balanced and we have the correct energetic flow through them it radiates good health and well being. Chakras that are functioning normally will be open and spinning clockwise at a similar frequency to each other. Chakras that are over-active and opened to much can cause negative effects since to much universal energy is going through the body.

LotusThe beautiful lotus flower which is like a water lily and grows in Asia is sometimes referred to your chakras, for they can be closed, in bud, opening or blossoming, active or dormant. The roots are deeply buried in the mud and its flower blooms upon the surface. This is representative of your emotions and humankind itself.

The tantric system represents each chakra by a number of lotus petals ranging from four petals at the root chakra to 1000 petals at the crown. This expresses the chakras vibratory rate.


Web Statistics